Fluid Mechanics

Cinemagraph - Van Buren

Fluid mechanics spans many fields of science and engineering and plays an integral role in many broader societal issues including energy, health, and the environment. The breadth is reflected in research topics that range over eight orders of magnitude in Reynolds numbers: from cells to submarines. Theoretical, experimental, and numerical tools are used to reveal the underlying physics. Current research topics include: aerodynamic shape optimization, biofilms, drag reduction, dynamics of bubbles and droplets, fire whirls, fish locomotion, flow control, flow sensors, hypersonic flows, microfluidics, physicochemical/colloidal hydrodynamics, reacting flows, turbulent mixing and heat transfer, turbulent wall bounded flows, and wind energy.

Craig Arnold
Susan Dod Brown Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
cbarnold@princeton.edu
(609) 258-0250
D404C Engineering Quadrangle/Bowen Hall Rm 320
Lamyaa photo
Lecturer
lelgabry@princeton.edu
D324 Engineering Quadrangle
Hultmark
Associate Professor
hultmark@Princeton.EDU
(609) 258-5689
D222 Engineering Quadrangle
Chung Law
Robert H. Goddard Professor
cklaw@princeton.edu
(609) 258-5271
D325 Engineering Quadrangle
Luigi Martinelli
Professor
gigi@phantom2.princeton.edu
(609) 258-6652
D302C Engineering Quadrangle
Michael Mueller
Associate Professor
muellerm@princeton.edu
(609) 258-5191
D332 Engineering Quadrangle
Daniel M. Nosenchuck
Associate Professor
dan@princeton.edu
(609) 258-5136
D302B Engineering Quadrangle
Clarence Rowley
Professor
cwrowley@princeton.edu
(609) 258-7321
D232 Engineering Quadrangle
Alexander Smits
Eugene Higgins Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Emeritus
Senior Scholar
asmits@princeton.edu
(609) 258-5117
D224 Engineering Quadrangle
Howard A. Stone
Donald R. Dixon ’69 and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor
Chair
hastone@princeton.edu
(609) 258-9493
D328 Engineering Quadrangle