Kelsey Hatzell

Kelsey B. Hatzell
Assistant Professor
Ph.D, Material Science and Engineering, Drexel University
Other Affiliations
Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment

Research Areas

Short Bio

Kelsey Hatzell is an Assistant Professor at Princeton University in the Andlinger Center for Energy and Environment and Mechanical and Aerospace Department. Kelsey earned her Ph.D. in Material Science and Engineering at Drexel University, a M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Pennsylvania State University, and her B.S./B.A. in Engineering/Economics from Swarthmore College. While at Swarthmore College Kelsey became fascinated with energy, sustainability, and how we price natural resources. As a result, Hatzell pursued graduate research opportunities in electrochemical energy storage.

Hatzell’s current research group works on multifunctional coatings and understanding phenomena at solid|liquid and solid|solid interfaces. The Inks and Interfaces group works on an array of different applications related to solid state batteries, electrochemical fuel production, printing, water desalination, and separations application. She is interested in understanding far-from equilibrium material systems and utilize a suite of x-ray and neutron techniques to understand these systems.

Hatzell was an ITRI-Rosenfeld Postdoctoral Fellow at Berkeley Lab and an NSF Graduate Research Fellow. She received the Arthur Nowick Award from Materials Research and the Silver Graduate Student Award in the Materials Research Society.  Since starting her faculty position she has won the ORAU Powe Junior Faculty Award (2017), NSF CAREER Award (2019), ECS Toyota Young Investigator Award (2019), finalist for the BASF/Volkswagen Science in Electrochemistry Award (2019), and the Nelson “Buck” Robinson award from MRS (2019). Hatzell was also named a SCIALOG Fellow by the Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement in energy storage (2017-2019)  and negative emission science (2020-2022). Most recently, Hatzell was awarded  Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow in Chemistry (2020) and the POLiS Award of Excellence for Female Researchers in 2021  (German Battery Research Consortium).