Yiguang Ju

Yiguang Ju
Robert Porter Patterson Professor
Ph.D., Tohoku University, 1994
Other Affiliations
Director of DOE Energy Earthshot Research Center (EERC) for Hydrogen

Faculty Assistant

Emma Kruse

Research Areas

Short Bio

Yiguang Ju received his bachelor's degree in Engineering Thermophysics from Tsinghua University in 1986, and his PhD degree in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Tohoku University (Japan) in 1994. He is the Robert Porter Patterson Professor in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and served as the Director of DOE Energy Earthshot Research Center (EERC) for Hydrogen. 

Prof. Ju’s research interests include combustion, green fuels, and electrified manufacturing in the areas of near-limit and supercritical combustion, chemical kinetics, plasma chemistry, and non-equilibrium manufacturing of hydrogen, ammonia, e-fuels, and energy materials.  He has published 300 refereed journal articles. He is a fellow of AIAA and ASME, and a founding fellow of the Combustion Institute. He serves on the Board of Directors of the Combustion Institute and the Institute for Dynamics of Explosions and Reactive Systems. He was the Chair of the US Sections of the Combustion Institute and serves as an Associate Editor of AIAA Journal and Combustion Science and Technology. He has received many awards including four times of the Distinguished Paper Awards from the International Symposium on Combustion (2011, 2015, 2021, 2023), the NASA Director’s Certificate of Appreciation award (2011), the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (2011), the International Prize from Japanese Combustion Society (2018), and the 2021 Propellants & Combustion Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), the Alfred C. Egerton Gold Medal (2022) from the Combustion Institute, and the 2022 Distinguished Teacher Award from School of Engineering and Applied Science at Princeton University. He is Co-founder of HiTNano IncPrinceton NuEnergy IncPolymer-X Inc, and USPlasma Inc.