Former MAE Undergrads Serve the Nation by Advising President Biden on Science and Technology

Frances Arnold and John Dabiri

Two former MAE undergraduates, Frances Arnold and John Dabiri have been named to the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST). Frances is the Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering, and Biochemistry at Caltech; she won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2018 (she was the first American woman to do so). John is the Centennial Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering at Caltech; previously he received a MacArthur Foundation “Genius” Fellowship. Members of PCAST advise the President of the United States on science and technology. 

Two Princeton University faculty members, Andrea Goldsmith, Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science and Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Steve Pacala, Frederick D. Petrie Professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, were also named to serve on PCAST.


Link to full story