Multiscale Modeling and Simulation: Some Challenges and New Perspectives

Series/Event Type: 

The design and optimization of the next generation of materials and applications strongly hinge on our understanding of the processing-microstructure-performance relations; and these, in turn, result from the collective behavior of materials’ features at multiple length at time scales. Although the modeling and simulation techniques are now developed at each individual scale (quantum, atomistic, mesoscale and continuum), there remain long-recognized grand challenges that limit the quantitative and predictive capability of these multiscale modeling and simulation tools. In this talk we will discuss three of these challenges and provide solution strategies in the context of three specific applications. These include (i) the homogenization in the absence of a complete separation of length and/or time scales, for the simulation of metamaterials with exotic dynamic properties; (ii) the collective behavior of materials’ defect in large inelastic deformations, for the understanding of the kinematics in finite elasto-plasticity; and (iii) the upscaling of non-equilibrium material behavior for the modeling of phase change materials.

Celia Reina, University of Pennsylvania
Bowen Hall
Room number or other detail: 
Bowen Hall Rm 222
Friday, October 19, 2018 - 12:30pm

Speaker Bio

Celia Reina is the William K. Gemmill Term Assistant Professor in Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics at the University of Pennsylvania. She joined in 2014 after holding the Lawrence Postdoctoral Fellowship at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and the HCM postdoctoral Fellowship at the Hausdorff Center of Mathematics in Bonn, Germany. Dr. Reina received her PhD from the California Institute of Technology in Aerospace Engineering in 2011, under the supervision of Prof. Michael Ortiz, following a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Seville in Spain, and a Master in Structural Dynamics from Ecole Centrale Paris in France. She is the 2017 recipient of the Eshelby Mechanics Award for Young Faculty.