Dynamics and Controls

Dynamics and Controls

The analysis, synthesis, and design of systems with complex dynamics, and techniques for controlling such systems using feedback, play important roles in many aspects of engineering. Ongoing research in this area includes nonlinear dynamical systems, reduced-order modeling, optimal control and estimation, coordinated control of networked multi-agent systems, nonlinear control, and geometric mechanics.

 

Applications and current research projects include underwater robotics, from fish and eels to underwater gliders; cooperative control of robotic vehicle networks; decision-making dynamics; collective behavior in animal groups; modeling and control of fluids; control of unsteady aerodynamics for micro-air vehicles; orbital mechanics and space mission design; adaptive optics for ground and space telescopes; modeling cognitive and other neurobiological processes; control of liquid metals; plasma control for fusion energy optimization; methods for cancer detection; and optimal control of disease processes.

Daniel Cohen
Assistant Professor
djctwo@Princeton.edu
Philip Holmes
Professor Emeritus
Senior Scholar
pholmes@math.princeton.edu
(609) 258-2958
275 PNI - Neuroscience Institute
N. Jeremy Kasdin
Professor
jkasdin@princeton.edu
(609) 258- 5673
D226 Engineering Quadrangle
Egemen Kolemen
Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and the Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment
ekolemen@princeton.edu
D302D Engineering Quadrangle
Naomi Ehrich Leonard
Edwin S. Wilsey Professor
naomi@princeton.edu
(609) 258-5129
D234 Engineering Quadrangle
Michael Littman
Professor
Undergraduate Departmental Representative
mlittman@princeton.edu
(609) 258-5198
D202A Engineering Quadrangle
Anirudha Majumdar
Assistant Professor
D202B Engineering Quad
Clarence Rowley
Professor
cwrowley@princeton.edu
(609) 258-7321
D232 Engineering Quadrangle
Robert Stengel
Professor
stengel@princeton.edu
(609) 258-5103
D202 Engineering Quadrangle