Applied Physics

Applied Physics - Noel Valero Photography

Lasers are important as diagnostic tools and in instruments whose use spans a spectrum from materials fabrication to medical applications. The underlying physics is applied to diverse areas such as advanced propulsion systems, X-ray generation, and understanding the properties of complex materials and fluids. This area includes laser technology and applications; X-ray lasers; flow field and combustion diagnostics; multiphoton processes and nonlinear optics; high-energy lasers; atomic and molecular spectroscopy; molecular dynamics; plasmadynamics; high field phenomena; controlled laser-driven molecular and acoustic processes; picosecond and subpicosecond sources; high-energy incoherent source development; advanced spacecraft propulsion; space plasma physics; active space experiments; electric discharge and radiation studies.

Craig Arnold
Professor
cbarnold@princeton.edu
(609) 258-0250
D410 Engineering Quadrangle/Bowen Hall Rm 320
Edgar Choueiri
Professor
choueiri@princeton.edu
(609) 258-5220
D432 Engineering Quadrangle
Alexander Glaser
Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and International Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School
Director of Graduate Studies
aglaser@princeton.edu
(609) 258-5692
D434 Engineering Quadrangle
Egemen Kolemen
Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and the Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment
ekolemen@princeton.edu
D302D Engineering Quadrangle
Julia M. Mikhailova
Assistant Professor
jm41@princeton.edu
(609) 258 7154
D420 Engineering Quadrangle
Richard Miles
Robert Porter Patterson Professor Emeritus
Senior Scholar
miles@princeton.edu
(609) 258-5131
D412 Engineering Quad
Szymon Suckewer
Professor Emeritus
Senior Scholar
suckewer@princeton.edu
(609) 258-4738
D426 Engineering Quadrangle